Tuesday, November 30, 2021
No menu items!
Google search engine
HomeNewsJonny Greenwood writes new title track for ‘Licorice Pizza’ soundtrack

Jonny Greenwood writes new title track for ‘Licorice Pizza’ soundtrack

Jonny Greenwood has contributed a new track called ‘Licorice Pizza’ to the forthcoming Paul Thomas Anderson film of the same name.

READ MORE: Jonny Greenwood on writing the soundtrack for new Princess Diana biopic ‘Spencer’

The Radiohead guitarist – who’s scored several of Anderson’s movies, including There Will Be Blood, The Master and Inherent Vice – appears on the original soundtrack to the Alana Haim-starring coming-of-age drama, which is set in the 1970s.

Reflecting that era, the newly announced Licorice Pizza soundtrack features ‘Life On Mars?’ by David Bowie, ‘Let Me Roll It’ by Paul McCartney and Wings, ‘Peace Frog’ by The Doors, and ‘If You Could Read My Mind’ by Gordon Lightfoot.

Elsewhere are the likes of Nina Simone, Bing Crosby, Chuck Berry and Clarence Carter. You can see the full tracklist and cover artwork below.

The Licorice Pizza original soundtrack will arrive on November 26. Pre-order/pre-save it here.

Get your very own double vinyl album of the official #LicoricePizza soundtrack on December 10th from @RepublicRecords. Pre-order here: https://t.co/M9g1VOwSqh pic.twitter.com/hU1GkcilDR

— Licorice Pizza (@licoricepizza) November 11, 2021

1. Nina Simone – ‘July Tree’
2. Chris Norman / Suzi Quatro – ‘Stumblin’ In’
3. Johnny Guarnieri – ‘Sometimes I’m Happy’
4. Bing Crosby / The Andrews Sisters – ‘Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive (Single Version)’ [ft. Vic Schoen and His Orchestra]
5. Chico Hamilton Quintet – ‘Blue Sands’ [ft. Buddy Collette]
6. Sonny & Cher – ‘But You’re Mine’
7. Chuck Berry – ‘My Ding-a-Ling (Live at Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco, CA/1967)’ [ft. Steve Miller Band]
8. The Doors – ‘Peace Frog’
9. Paul McCartney / Wings – ‘Let Me Roll It’
10. David Bowie – ‘Life on Mars?’
11. Clarence Carter – ‘Slip Away’
12. Seals & Crofts – ‘Diamond Girl’
13. Mason Williams – ‘Greensleeves’
14. Donovan – ‘Barabajagal’
15. Congregation – ‘Softly Whispering I Love You’
16. Jonny Greenwood – ‘Licorice Pizza’
17. Gordon Lightfoot – ‘If You Could Read My Mind’
18. James Gang – ‘Walk Away’
19. Blood, Sweat & Tears – ‘Lisa, Listen to Me’
20. Taj Mahal – ‘Tomorrow May Not Be Your Day’

Meanwhile, early reactions to Licorice Pizza have seen Alana Haim receive huge praise for her debut acting performance. Some of those who attended an early screening called the movie a “masterpiece” and “brilliant”.

During a recent interview, Haim called her time on the film a “huge growing experience”, reflecting on working without with her sisters Este and Danielle.

“My two older siblings have carried me through life, so it was jarring to be like, ‘Oh, they can’t get me out of this one’,” she explained.

“I also couldn’t blame them for anything, or be like, ‘Danielle did it, not me’. I had to show up on set every day, know what I was doing, and hold my own.”

Licorice Pizza is released nationwide in the US on December 25.

The post Jonny Greenwood writes new title track for ‘Licorice Pizza’ soundtrack appeared first on NME.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular